University of the Pacific

University of the PacificThe University of the Pacific is a nationally recognized university with three campuses in Northern California, comprised of eight total schools and colleges. It became California’s first chartered institution of higher education in 1851 and the first co-ed university (the first graduating class had five men and five women) in California in 1871. The University is accredited by the WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC, formerly WASC), the regional accrediting agency for all schools and colleges in the California and Hawaii region. The University’s Benerd School of Education was the first school in California to be accredited through the doctoral level by the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE).

The University College at the University of the Pacific is committed to extending learning opportunities from campus beyond the traditional, residential environment by delivering high-quality professional development courses for K-12 educators to help achieve professional advancement and improve the educational experience for communities throughout the country.

Summer Institutes partners with the University College to offer professional development programming where students can earn graduate-level professional development units (PDUs) for successful completion of applicable coursework. PDUs are post-baccalaureate professional development coursework designed specifically for graduate level educators and administrators. Semester units (hours) of non-degree graduate level credit are awarded for successful completion of coursework. In additional these courses will be listed on a University transcript but are not applicable to any graduate degree at the University of the Pacific, nor are they generally accepted for credit towards a degree at other institutions.

For more information, please visit www.pacific.edu.